2012 Rajya Sabha Elections – Important Information

The Election Commission of India has announced the Biennial Elections to the Council of States for Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Orissa, West Bengal and Rajasthan. According to Election Commission, 2012 Rajya Sabha Elections for 58 seats will be conducted in the month of April 2012. However, the Election Commission rescheduled the date of Rajya Sabha vote in Uttar Pradesh, and was held two months before the date that was scheduled by Election Commission. This rescheduling of election dates in Uttar Pradesh seemed to be fatal to the then ruling party, BSP, where the Ex-Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh dreamt of winning the Rajya Sabha polls with maximum seats this year.

The notification for Rajya Sabha Biennial Elections 2012 was declared on 12th march 2012, with the last date of filling the nominations being 19th March 2012. The date for scrutinizing the nominations had been stipulated to be 20th March 2012, with the authority to withdraw candidature within the last date of 22nd March 2012. The date of polling has been stipulated to be 30th March 2012, 9.00am to 4.00pm. Votes will be counted on 30th March 2012 itself and declared by 5pm evening. All elections have to be closed before 1st April 2012, according to the Election Commission of India.

While all the other states are gearing up for the 2012 Rajya Sabha Elections, BSP met with shear clash with…

Read the full article at foxnews.com…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *